10 Grevillea Drive, Alice Springs NT 0870 | Phone 08 8958 5000

NTCET Information

The Northern Territory Certificate of Education and Training (NTCET) qualification is designed to recognise the knowledge and skills that have been acquired through formal education and training.

The completion requirements for the NTCET have been approved by the Minister for Education and Training. These completion requirements make the NTCET a unique and contemporary certificate that has grown from the current NTCE and is closely aligned with senior secondary directions in other states.

The NTCET provides students with access to more flexible learning arrangements where students have increased opportunities to develop the business, interpersonal and employment-related skills needed for the future.

Students completing their senior secondary education will graduate with a Northern Territory Certificate of Education and Training (NTCET) from 2011.

Completion requirements of the NTCET

Every subject you successfully complete  will earn you credits. Gain 200 credits in the right mix of subjects and courses and you will receive your NTCET. As an indication, a full semester (six months) of study in one subject will be worth 10 credits.

Students will receive a grade for each subject (A to an E). For the compulsory subjects, a C grade or better will be required to complete your NTCET.

At Stage 1 (Year 11), teachers at your school will mark all subjects. At Stage 2 (Year 12), 30 percent of your work in each subject (such as exams, practical projects and presentations) will be marked by experts outside your school. The rest of your work will be assessed by teachers at your school, with their marks cross-checked with experts outside your school. This ensures everyone is marked according to the same standards.

When you have finished your NTCET, you will receive a certificate which records your achievements. Information about your achievements will be available online in both Stage 1 and Stage 2.

The following table shows what will be required as a minimum to achieve the NTCET. Many students will choose to study more subjects than the minimum required at Stage 2.

NTCET minimum requirements

Completion Requirements

  • Students must achieve an A, B or C for all the compulsory subjects and courses.
  • Students must achieve an A, B or C in 140 credits.

NTCET completion requirements

Personal Learning Plan

The Personal Learning Plan helps you to plan for your future, including:

  • the subjects you will study in Years 11 and 12 and any courses outside of school
  • possible career choices and ideas for community service
  • how best to prepare for your career options and other goals.

As well as working with your teachers on the plan, you can ask for advice from your parents/carers and help develop your ideas for the future.

The Personal Learning Plan is worth 10 credits and counts towards Stage 1 of the NTCET. The Personal Learning Plan is compulsory, and each student needs to achieve a C grade or better in this subject to gain the NTCET.


Your Personal Learning Plan will be unique to you, but all work will be assessed according to a set of published standards. Everyone's work will be judged against the same criteria. As in any subject, you will need to show what you have learned through a series of assessment tasks.

"The Personal Learning Plan helped me define my career path which overall helped me decide which subjects I wanted to do."

"I had no idea what I wanted to do. I've now got three or four different ideas in my mind...The Personal Learning Plan has helped a lot about what I may want to do in the future."

Students from the schools who trialled the Personal Learning Plan in 2008.

Literacy and numeracy

The Personal Learning Plan helps students plan their future career and study goals. It also provide the opportunity to identify and work on any areas that need improvement, particularly in literacy and numeracy.

In Year 11, you will need to achieve a 'C' grade or above in 20 credits of English and 10 credits of mathematics. The Personal Learning Plan will help you plan a pathway to achieve this goal.

"It's good because you really see how you're going in your subjects literacy and numeracy so you really know where you're at."

"I've chosen my NTCET based on what I want to do when I leave school." 

                                              -Students from the schools who trialled the Personal Learning Plan in 2008.

What are the new subjects?

Compulsory subjects

The new NTCET has three compulsory parts: the Personal Learning Plan and a choice of English and mathematics subjects or courses. You will need to achieve a 'C' grade or better in each subject or course to gain your NTCET. The Personal Learning Plan is the first available subject of the new NTCET, beginning in 2009. Its a compulsory requirement at Stage 1.

At Stage 1, you will need to satisfactorily complete at least 20 credits satisfactorily from a range of English subjects or courses and at least 10 credits from a range of Stage 1 mathematics subjects or courses.

Your choices

Beyond the compulsory subjects, the NTCET will include a wide range of other subjects and courses. Subjects are generally offered in schools and courses are offered by other organisations, such as Vocational Education and Training (VET) providers either in or out of school, and count towards the NTCET.

Schools will be able to tailor subjects to meet the needs of the local community.

Vocational Education and Training (VET)

The new NTCET can be tailored to each student's needs and interests, including those who prefer hands-on learning or work outside the classroom. Students will be able to gain credit for a wide range of learning activities, including undertaking a trade, studying through registered training organisations, and for some part-time work. To gain credit for part-time work, there will need to be evidence that the job has helped you to build skills and knowledge.

An apprenticeship can count towards the NTCET. This means you can gain on-the-job skills while working towards both the NTCET and a recognised VET qualification.

Trade training requires strong literacy and numeracy skills. The new NTCET will help you to meet these requirements.

In the new NTCET, VET options are available at both Stage 1 and Stage 2. Some of the VET options offered at Stage 2 will enable students to work towards a Certificate III qualification while completing the NTCET. Students could be well on the way to gaining a VET qualification by the time they finish school.

Full details of VET options will be confirmed before you have to make your choices for Year 11.